Daily Star logoSports

Bacolod City, Philippines Saturday, October 13, 2018
Front Page
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events

Ten athletes in 2018
Sports Hall of Fame


MANILA - The Philippine Sports Commission has announced the 10 athletes who will be enshrined in the 2018 Sports Hall of Fame.

Lydia de Vega-Mercado, who was dubbed as Asia's fastest woman in the 1980s, is among those to be enshrined, along with Josephine dela Vina (athletics), former Senator Ambrosio Padilla and Loreto Carbonell (basketball), Filomeno "Boy" Codinera Jr. (baseball and softball), Rafael "Paeng" Nepomuceno, Olivia "Bong" Coo, and Litadela Rosa (bowling), Erbito Salavarria (boxing), and Ben Arda (golf).

“It was not easy to choose the Top 10. We have so many great athletes," PSC chairman William "Butch" Ramirez said yesterday.*PNA


back to top

ButtonNorthPort clobbers Meralco for 2nd win
ButtonMotorsports karting academy set in Bacolod
ButtonTen athletes in 2018 Sports Hall of Fame

ButtonFederer joins Djokovic in Shanghai semi-finals