Daily Star logoTop Stories

Bacolod City, Philippines Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Front Page
Star Business
Star Life
People & Events

30 winning mayors
known, Silay battle still on


Two incumbent mayors were defeated in Monday’s polls, while the battle for mayor of Silay City in Negros Occidental is still on.

Rep. Alejandro Mirasol (Neg. Occ., 5th District) has made a comeback as mayor of Binalbagan, defeating incumbent Manuel Aranda (UNegA) by 2,347 votes.

In Isabela, Irene Montilla, the widow of the late mayor Enrique Montilla, defeated incumbent Joselito Malabor by a narrow 48 votes.

In Silay City, incumbent Mark Golez and his opponent former mayor Jose “Oti” Montelibano, are both claiming they will win. The returns from six clustered precincts with defective SD cards have yet to be tallied.

Golez said that the results from barangays Guinhalaran and Eustaquio Lopez were expected to be tallied last night with the defective SD cards in the two precincts having been replaced.

Replacement cards for precincts in barangays 5, Hawaiian, Guimba-laon and Rizal are expected today, so the tally of votes can proceed, he said.

Montelibano said he is certain he will win when the total tally comes in, while Golez said he is sure of victory as the returns expected are from his bailiwicks.

The following are Halalan 2019 unofficial results aggregated from Comelec data for the mayoral races in the 31 towns and cities of Negros Occidental:

Bago City (unopposed)

Nicholas Yulo (NPC) - 53,545


Alejandro Mirasol (Lakas) - 17,740

Manuel Aranda (UNegA) - 15,393

Cadiz City

Salvador Escalante (UNegA) - 36,021

Ray Yee (Ind) - 17,065


Marilyn Era (NPC) - 20,028

Alfonso Baguio Jr. - 16,344


Cicero Borromeo (UNegA) - 5,796

Jechonias Manzano (NPC) - 3,856


John Rey Tabujara (NPC) - 28,350

Joel Samillano (Ind) - 1, 863

EB Magalona

Marvin Malacon (PDP Laban) - 20,093

David Lacson (NUP) - 10,270

Escalante City (unopposed)

Melecio Yap Jr. (NPC) - 33,096


Raymund Tongson (UNegA) - 27,226

Carmina Bascon (NPC) - 20,871


Jose Nadie Arceo (Lakas CMD) - 21,600

Paul Yulo (NPC) - 18,092


Ernesto Estrao (PDP Laban) - 11,678

Oscar Daclan (Ind) - 11,317

Ilog (Unopposed)

John Paul Alvarez (NPC) - 20,032


Irene Montilla (NPC) - 13,892

Joselito Malabor (NUP) - 13,844

Kabankalan City

Pedro Zayco Jr. (NPC) - 51,839

Victoriano Sola Jr. (Ind) - 7,667

La Carlota City

Jacky Jalandoni (NUP/UNegA) - 27,460

Edmund Rodriguez (PDDS) -2,188

La Castellana

Rhumyla Nicor (NUP) -17,822

Chad Feria (NPC) - 13,987


Manuel Escalante (UNegA/PDP Laban) - 12,596

Roy Plagata (NPC) - 12,020

Moises Padilla

Ella Garcia-Yulo (UNegA/PDP Laban) - 13,056

Magdaleno Peña (NPC) - 5,493


Gerry Rojas (PDP Laban) - 22,978

Roel Villarosa (PMP) - 16,157


Joemar Alonso (NUP/UNegA) - 22,786

Roscoe Deles (Ind) - 659

Pulupandan (unopposed)

Miguel Antonio Peña (NPC) - 11,932

Sagay City (Unopposed)

Alfredo Marañon III (NUP/UNegA) - 44,454

Salvador Benedicto

Marxlen dela Cruz (PDP Laban/UNegA) - 9,620

Myrna Castillo (PDDS) - 1,469

San Carlos City

Rene Gustilo (NPC) - 39,174

Edgardo Quisumbing (UNegA) - 16,926

San Enrique

Jilson Tubillara (UNegA/NUP) - 8,808

Celedonio Ofalla (LP) - 4,560

Silay City (incomplete results)

Mark Golez (PDP Laban) - 22,643

Jose “Oti” Montelibanp (UNegA) - 21,473

Sipalay City (unopposed)

Maria Gina Lizares (NPC) - 24,392

Talisay City

Neil Lizares (PDP Laban) - 35,268

Joel Bantigue (Ind) - 5,049


Richard Jaojoco (PDP Laban) - 12,581

Evello Valencia Jr. (NPC) - 9,814


Enrique Miravalles (NPC) - 10,467

Ricardo Prebitero Jr. (UNegA) - 9,397

Victorias City

Francis Palanca (PDP Laban) - 28,501

Teresita de Dios (Ind) - 4,744*


back to top

Front Page | Opinion | Business | Sports
Star Life | People & Events| Archives | Advertise
Top Stories
ButtonDefective SD cards delay proclamations
Button30 winning mayors known, Silay battle still on
ButtonAmok kills 4, injures 3 in Ilog
ButtonBing: Thank you for overwhelming win
ButtonTop officials in Neg. Or. re-elected
Button4 cops, 2 others face murder raps
ButtonSlain councilor gets top votes
ButtonElla thanks Tatay Digong for free polls
ButtonKiko to push for metro 3rd district
ButtonRemollo gets second term
ButtonMalacon’s team wins 10-0
ButtonNo 2nd seat for Abang Lingkod?