Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Davies Paints downs Royal Star in OT to take solo lead

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email
The Visayan Maritime Academy team*

In the highly anticipated battle of undefeated teams, Davies Paints Phils. prevailed against Royal Star Trading in extra time, 102-98, during the Sunday games of the 1st United Negros Basketball League 25 Under Open Tournament, at the Bacolod Tay Tung High School Po Hang Gym.

With the win, Davies Paints Phils. improved to 7-0, while their victim ended the elimination round at 7-1. The former will have to beat University of St. La Salle -Fyr Fyter (6-1) this Saturday, to keep their top spot, otherwise the quotient system will be used to determine the ranking of the top 3 teams.

It was a closely fought battle right from the start, as the lead changed hands several times, until RST’s Edsel Manday tied the game at 91-all. Davies however scored 6 straight points in the overtime period, with Kenneth Sarco contributing 4 points. Royal Star cut the deficit to 3, but John Mermida responded with a triple to hammer the nail in the coffin to seal the victory for Davies.

Mermida had a game high 22 points, Mark Dubouzet – 19, Sarco – 14, JB Co – 13, Jerlo Faltiquera and Kent Macalalag – 7 each, Shannon Sealey – 6, and James Garrucho – 5.

RST relied on Rey Carano-o with 19 markers, Justine Ragay – 18, Manday – 16, Jeorem Cabaylo – 10, Saldy Macabato – 9, Joshua Genesis Vincoy – 8, and George Magalso – 5.

Meanwhile, KDR Perfecto registered its first win, taking JSY Transport as its victim with a final score of 92-89

KDR held a 49-43 lead at halftime, led by Rey Artesano with 16 points., backstopped by Jerick Villarias and Ian Bitamor combining for 17 markers, while Alarcon, Jay Padios and Janrey Marmito produced 10, 9, and 8 pts, respectively, for JSY.

KDR extended the lead to 77-69 at the end of the 3rd quarter. JSY then limited KDR to 15 point. in the 4th quarter but it wasn’t enough to hold off KDR as Mark Bandojo and Cloyd Jason Seballos went perfect from the 15 charity stripe, surviving a scare brought about by 3 successive trey bombs from Gavemar Alarcon.

Rey Artecano spearheaded Perfecto with 18, Mark Bandojo – 17, Bitamor and Seballos – 10 apiece, Villarias – 9, Karl De Los Reyes and Joshua Balinas – 7 apiece.

JSY Transport was led by Alarcon’s 21 points, Marco Ugdiman – 12, Jay Padios and Janrey Marmito – 10 each, and Bonbrix Balontong – 8.


USLS Fyr Fyter broke the winning streak of Colegio de San Agustin Bacolod / Strived Sportswear at 4 games with a 3rd quarter turnaround, ending the game with a victory, 79-69.

CSA-B led at the half 44-37, behind Ken Malazarte’s 13 points, AJ Ondon – 9, and Jemar Cepriano – 7. However, USLS engineered a dizzying 26-7 3rd quarter run to grab the lead at 63-51 by the quarter’s end. Keith Rhaileen Ortillano led a balance Fyr Fyter offense with 10 points in the final quarter, where Strived Sportswear mounted a last ditch effort that fell short, as they could only cut the lead to 4 points.

Martin Jay Beatingo unloaded 13 points for USLS, backstopped by Andrie Dubouzet – 12, John Edmund Escultura and Nelbert Minerva – 7 apiece, and Terence Buenafe ­- 6.

Ken Malazarte and Cepriano registered 19 and 16 points, respectively, to pace Strived Sportswear, while Ondon produced 9, Mycco Deposoy – 8, and Jenri Duterte – 6.

JEYDI K Waterproofing ended their elimination round campaign on a high note with a victory against Visayan Maritime Academy, 81-72. The former JEYDI K driver’s seat at the break, 44-41 and then relied on the trio of Nico Abaquita, Andy Villamer and Amboy Caballero, who conspired for 21 points to establish a double digit lead, going to the payoff quarter with a score of 71-56. That lead they built was enough for JEYDI K to coast to victory as VMA would only cut the lead to 7 pts.

Lorreal Arculo bannered JEYDI K with 17 points, Caballero – 12, Villamer – 13, Abaquita – 10, and Joshua Abkilan – 6.

John Paul Amante led VMA with 18 markers, Mark Angelo Gatinao – 13, Kert Roland Sanchez – 9, and the trio of Kyle Bert Ma-asin, Albert Urbanozo, and Robert Matti delivered 6 apiece.*


Read Article by date

April 2024

Get your copy of the Visayan Daily Star everyday!

Avail of the FREE 30-day trial.