Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Province hosts sports tournaments over weekend

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

The Negros Occidental Provincial Government and the Provincial Sports Office successfully wrapped up various sporting events over the past weekend.

The Governor’s Cup Football Provincial Championship was held at the Pana-ad Park and Stadium on November 12-13, where the cities of Bago and Sagay were hailed champions in the 17-under (Born 2005) and 12-under (Born 2005) categories, respectively.

Bago City defeated the University of Saint La Salle Football Club (USLS FC) in the 17-under (Born 2005) category, with a score of 4-3. The USLS team landed second, followed by the municipality of Pontevedra.

The Sagay City 12-under (Born 2010) team took the championship match by winning five goals against the Dolphins Football Club’s two, giving the latter second place. The city of San Carlos landed in third place.

Outstanding players also received special awards. In the 17-under (Born 2005) category, Christian Renson of Bago City received the Best Striker award after scoring eight goals. Bago City’s Earl Sinconiegue took the Best Midfielder, La Salle’s Peter Olid was named the Best Defender and Ashley Sacapaño of Bago City earned the Best Goalkeeper and the Most Valuable Player.

For the 12-under (Born 2010) category, Kier Lorenz Martos was the Best Striker with 18 recorded goals. John Paul Nidar – Best Midfielder, Macky Marquez – Best Defender, JC Baloco – Best Goalkeeper and Zhaan Roqino was named Most Valuable Player. All the special awardees came from the Sagay City team.

The participants of the Abanse Negrense Beach Volleyball Tournament (south eliminations) that kicked off at the Municipality of Hinoba-an*


The Abanse Negrense Beach Volleyball Tournament (South Eliminations) kicked off at the Municipality of Hinoba-an on Nov. 10-11 saw the ladies from the Himamaylan A team securing their spot for the next round, after leading the 16-under-girls and 21-under-women categories. 

Pontevedra and Bacolod City ranked second and third in the 16-under-girls and 21-under-women categories, Candoni ranked fourth in the 16-under-girls, while Sipalay City was the fourth placer in the 21-under-women category. 

Bago City took the lead in the 16-under-boys category. Sipalay City, Himamaylan, and Pontevedra ranked second, third, and fourth places in the same category, respectively. 

The tournament had the support of Hinoba-an Mayor Daph Anthony Reliquias, Sports Coordinator Inno Paul Layda, SB Member Jason Tupas, municipal and barangay officials, beach volleyball tournament manager Reylin Verayo and Provincial Sports Office (PSO) staff Fred Dizon.

Following the south eliminations, the tournament will proceed with its Northern District eliminations in San Carlos City on Nov. 19-20. 

The Abanse Negrense Softball Tournament contenders in Brgy. Blumentritt, Murcia, Negros Occidental*


The Abanse Negrense Softball Tournament in Brgy. Blumentritt, Murcia saw the young batters from Education and Training Center School (ETCS) II and Silay City beating their respective opponents in the 12-under (Majors) and 14-under (Juniors) categories on Nov. 12-13.

The ETCS II softbelles hammered the Silay City team with a 31-0 score in the 12-under category, taking the largest margin of victory in the 2-day tournament.

Silay City, on the hand, took sweet revenge as they dominated the Negros Occidental High School (NOHS) team with a score of 14-1 in the 14-under category. For the Seniors, Talisay City and Silay City both defeated the Negros Occidental High School (NOHS) and the Bacolod City National High School (BCNHS) teams after winning 4-0 and 4-3 in the 7th inning, respectively.

For the Seniors (Boys) category, Talisay City emerged victorious against Bacolod City after scoring 9-5 in the 7th inning. The BCNHS batters banked on their experience and crushed the La Carlota boys with a score of 8-2 in the 7th inning.

Talisay City and Silay City male batters both won by regulation after five (5) innings with a score of 11-1 and 0-7, respectively.

A total of fourteen softball teams all over the province of Negros Occidental are competing for the 3-age categories. The invitational softball tournament officially kicked off on Nov. 6 and the semi-final and final matches are slated on Nov. 27, in Brgy. Blumentritt, Murcia. 


The Abanse Negrense Governor’s Cup Provincial Boxing Tournament continued elimination bouts and the first semi-final matches were held at the Municipality of Don Salvador Benedicto on Nov. 12-13.

Silay City emerged as the LGU with the most wins during the 2-day tournament, amassing a total of four wins with no losses. The Silay boxers defeated opponents from La Castellana, Bago City, and Victorias City.

Justin Jamero, Matthew Ayumania, John Mikhael Arellano, and Michael John Luzanez won in the 26 kilograms, 30 kilograms, 32 kilograms, and 34 kilograms weight divisions, respectively.

La Carlota City recorded no loss but only documented a single victory. Tournament host Don Salvador Benedicto recorded four victories and three defeats.

Murcia recorded 4 wins and 4 losses, Victorias City documented 3 wins and 2 defeats.

Don Salvador Benedicto Vice Mayor Nehemiah Joe Dela Cruz and municipal sports coordinator Wilson Real were reportedly present during the 2-day tournament.

The Governor’s Cup Provincial Boxing Tournament will proceed to its second semi-final and final bouts on December 3-4 in Don Salvador Benedicto.


The Abanse Negrense Table Tennis Tournament (South Eliminations), held in La Carlota City on Nov. 12-13, featured 12 LGU teams. These included the municipalities of Isabela, Ilog, Moises Padilla, San Enrique, Murcia, La Castellana, and Binalbagan, as well as the cities of Bago, Kabankalan, La Carlota, Himamaylan, and Bacolod.

According to Table Tennis Tournament Manager Marell Lagunday-Alvarez, the South Districts Elimination was well-received and applauded by ping-pong enthusiasts.

The results are as tabulated as follows:

 10 and Under BoysGirls – 1015 and Under Boys
CHAMPIONJan Ramier TancincoMikayla CuencaKristoffe Marcella
FIRST RUNNER-UPMcdaniel DidaNixine Delos ReyesDirk Nickholle Atilano
SECOND RUNNER-UPSJake GarciaKaterina DaguiaJames Tancinco
 John Brian NavillaMary Frances VasquezVan Lester Uy
 15 and Under Girls18 and Under Boys18 and Under Girls
CHAMPIONAliyah YansonAntimony GineteAlfranzen Arisco
FIRST RUNNER-UPJoyce MallenKristian MagallanesDee Ann Divinagracia
SECOND RUNNER-UPSAngel TrasportoJoshua PanesZhea Mae Celestre
 Sophia CortezaJohann MarcellaKenne Jocson
 Women’s (Open)Men’s (Open)Men’s Executive 45 and Up60 Up Veterans
CHAMPIONFea ArguellesStephen Andrew TimsonJude ArutaDuphin Pescadilla
FIRST RUNNER-UPKim ManansalaMark LandaboraJoe JalandoonDr. Carlitos Orolla
SECOND RUNNER-UPSSuzanne TaguiwaloFredrick GonzagaJudani PimentelRoberto Jalando-on Jr.
 Chelsea MaymieroJames SaligumbaElmer CortesEdwin Timtiman

The tournament will proceed with the North Eliminations on Nov. 26-27 in Silay City, while the Provincial Championship will be held in La Carlota City on Nov. 30.*


Read Article by date

April 2024

Get your copy of the Visayan Daily Star everyday!

Avail of the FREE 30-day trial.