Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

STI-WNU, BTTHS top respective brackets

STI West Negros University (STI-WNU) and Bacolod Tay Tung High School (BTTHS) emerged victorious in the battle of unbeaten teams on Sunday’s in the 1st United Negros Basketball League Aspirants Cup 2023 at the BTTHS Covered Court. 

STI-WNU defeated University of St. La Salle (USLS) 63-58, while BTTHS Team A defeated St. John’s Institute (SJI) Team A 75-63, to snatch the top seed with 7-0 slates in Brackets A and B, respectively. 

Adrian James Alagaban carried the BTTHS Team A offense with 28 points, delivering 19 in the 2nd half. Ahron John Cagayao added 13, Dave Matthew Recodo – 10, and Alfredo Ysulan Jr. – 7.

Santino Miguel Loretizo and Jose Miguel Sy paced SJI A with 15 points apiece, anchored on 3 triples each, Tabby Aldwin Espartero also connected on 3 trifectas for 11, Roberto Antonio Rojas – 9, and Ethan Matthew Ramirez – 7.

In the other game featuring undefeated teams, STI-WNU led at the half 37-27 and relied on its 3 point shooting to extend the lead to 52-39 going to the 4thquarter. USLS managed to outscore STI-WNU in the 4th quarter but time was not on their side, as STI-WNU held on to the victory. 

STI-WNU was led by Ed Christein Marinduque with 12 points, Kyle Salgado and Brent Jandy Yanong scored 8 each, and Kyle Francis Bayog – 6. The USLS boys got their output from John Carl Lamonte – 13, Luis Andrei Lirazan- 10, and Reagan Charles Jamero – 6. 

Meanwhile, Bacolod City National High School (BCNHS) secured 3rd spot in Bracket A with a 5-2 card, after defeating Luisa Medel National High School (LMNHS), 60-55. Despite the loss, LMNHS still made it into the quarterfinals. 

Khian Gawan spearheaded BCNHS with 15 points, Jeff Soqueño – 9, Rain Mendoza and John Erik Cagalcal – 7 each. Jester Paypa paced LMNHS with 23 points while Alfredo Araneta III added 18. 

St. Joseph School – La Salle (SJS-LS) also clinched 3rd place in Bracket B with a 5-2 win-loss slate, after defeating LCC-B, 52-37. SJS-LS was led by Jameer Angelo Gapusan with 15 points, Raishem Neil Rojas – 10, Rey John Alamo – 8. Christian Ray Aniban fired 23 points and Red Danielle Delearna delivered 7 for LCC-B.

University of Negros Occidental – Recoletos (UNO-R) snatched the 4th spot in Bracket B with a victory against Domingo Lacson National High School (DLNHS). Jayven Pachoro and George Agnesdelivered 9 markers apiece to lead a balanced UNO-R offense. Backstopping them were Mar Coronica and Reigner Torres with 8 points each. Meanwhile, the trio of Joseph Anillo, Al Rodrigo and Andrew James Cagayan scored 6 points each for DLNHS. 

Tedd Poblacion dropped 19 points to lead SJI Team B over BTTHS Team B. Nathaniel Fajardo and Gabe Benedict Tan supported Poblacion with 6 points apiece. SJI Team B ended their campaign at 3-4, which was tied with LMNHS. However, the winner over the other rule was applied, pushing the latter into the quarterfinals. 

BTTHS B finished its campaign with a 2-5 card, overwhelming St. Rose of Lima School (STROLS). Ziean Ken Panisales fired 16 points, Kent Panisales – 11, while Paulo Gallega, Seth Guarino and Prince Rasmo delivered 10 points each for BTTHS B, while John Oca Mabagat had 7 points for STROLS. 

Kevin James Sonido sizzled with a 28-point outing, leading Bacolod City National High School (BCNHS) over Trinity Christian School (TCS). BCNHS ended the elimination round at 3-4, with contributions from Jerol Dasig -11, Joven Jamero Jr. and Mackie Abdon – 10 each. TCS was led by Andrei Lance Mallen’s 18 points and Enrico Miguel Dasal’s 9. 

The quarterfinals will be on February 24, starting at 5 p.m.

BTTHS A will battle LMNHS while STI-WNU goes up against UNO-R. Top seeds BTTHS A and STI-WNU will be armed with a twice to beat advantage.

At 6:15 p.m. USLS meets SJS-LS while SJI A faces off against BCNHS in knockout matches. Winners will advance to the semifinals to be held Sunday starting 3:30 p.m.*

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on email

Read Article by date

March 2023

Get your copy of the Visayan Daily Star everyday!

Avail of the FREE 30-day trial.